The Darlington County Sheriff's Office registers sex offenders Tuesday and Wednesday, except County Holidays, between 9:00 am until 11:00 am at:
1621 HARRY BYRD HIGHWAY
DARLINGTON SC 29532.
Sex offenders that are released from the Department of Corrections, Department of Juvenile Justice, supervised by the Department of Probation, Parole, and Pardon Services are required to register within one (1) business day of release. Those persons may report to the Sheriff's Office any time within that 24-hour period. They will be required to return during normal registration hours to complete the registration process.
An offender shall not be considered to have registered until all information prescribed by the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) has been provided to the Sheriff (South Carolina Code of Laws Section 23-3-450). Failure to register as a sex offender is a misdemeanor and upon conviction of the first offense, the penalty is a mandatory sentence of 90 days in jail. For a second offense, the penalty is a misdemeanor with a mandatory sentence of one year in jail. The penalty for a third offense is a felony with a mandatory sentence of five years in jail.
Failure to comply with the laws of this state may result in an arrest.LOCAL SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
Inform the general public on important information and provide a platform for transparency and accountability.
Alert the general public on crime in the area and provide important information on emergency situations.
Partner with citizens and communities to ensure the safety, security, and prosperity of Darlington residents.